Fight Back

Another random thing about me: I have chronic back pain. I’m trying to make appointments to figure out why this is happening and I’m sure I’ll be documenting that along the way.

I was diagnosed with scoliosis about eleven years ago and the pain I had always surrounded the curved portion of my upper back. It felt like muscle cramps and the pain was present when I did a lot of physical activity or slept funny.

But now, the pain has moved down to my lower back. And it’s worse than I ever felt over this last decade. I’m not sure why the area has changed or why the pain has intensified this much. Is it because I sit too much? I try to get up and move around as much as possible, I go to the gym, I do stretches. It is so frustrating that I can’t figure out the reason myself.

If I walk around too much, it is honestly torture. When I was on vacation last week, I couldn’t even make it to the beach. That was so upsetting. One of my favorite places and my body couldn’t function properly to get me there.

I feel like this is such a dark post. I’m trying my best not to get too disappointed or lose all hope before I even get to my doctor appointments. But it’s hard to stay positive when I want to go out and do things but it causes so much pain. Has anyone dealt with severe, chronic pain or have any suggestions for some temporary relief?

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment